Hand Me Some Dice!

August 26, 2011 at 7:23 pm (Games)

I think one of the things I miss the most  is taking an old board game out and setting it up to play.  That and card games.  I’m pretty much saying this now because I’ve been playing some of these games on the 360.

Hasbro Monopoly Streets brings all the fun things and leaves out the clutter of the paper money and losing the little pieces.  Sure, it also brings that time it takes to complete just one game.  Luckily there are a few options you can tweak to shorten the game a little bit as well.  Biggest drawback is that each token is associated with a character… so it’s hard to pick a token that feels right, because you are more concerned about picking the character more than the token.

Hasbro Family Game Night was a strange one.  It’s like Game Room in the respect that you get the base game for free, but then you have to spend 800 points for each game.  Yahtzee and Scrabble were it’s selling point for me and Boggle is a fun word game (played with dice at that!).  Not so sure about connect 4 (two versions?!), but I tried out Jenga, Pictureureka and Sorry.  Jenga just doesn’t play well as a console game.

The last one I played was Trivial Pursuit where I keep getting reminded just how little I know about a lot of things.  And then suprise myself by knowing some of the weirdest things…  All in all I think I answer on average 38% of the questions correctly.  Yeah, that means a lot of missed questions  :p

Aside from the dice and board games, I finally checked out a Lego game… Indiana Jones:  The Original Adventures to be exact.  I had a lot of fun with this game, especially when I started finding the parcels and the mailbox.  One of the few games I’ve completed 100%.  I might have to look at some of the other Lego adventures now. . .

Anyway, I still think there’s no replacing the actual rolling of the dice in games. It’s more fun to control the way the dice are thrown and for the most part I’ve always had a particular touch with real dice.  It’s strange to think I have a whole bag of dice somewhere. . .  I just can’t remember where they are.  :s

Leave a Reply

