Looking Towards 2012

December 27, 2011 at 9:40 pm (General)

With the year almost over, it’s time to look at what’s coming over the horizon.  Actually, looking at what’s coming up is an anytime thing to do.  I guess it’s just sounds better when you preface it with “The new year”.  Many people are making those resolutions, others are hoping this is when they find that job, and most everyone is kind of hoping this is the year that the economy starts its recovery.

I’ve never been a big fan of waiting for the new year to start a resolution.  I figure it you want to do something, start it when you think of it.  I haven’t thought of anything yet so I’m just going to keep working hard and doing my best in the things that need to be done.  Of course, since I work hard, I should be able to relax when I’m not busy which is why gaming is always going to be a subject matter here on my quiet little blog here.

So, looking at the milestones I see that the car has been paid off (hurray!), a little more than 5 years left until retirement, and two or three cards should be paid off this year.  Granted, that sounds like the money thing should be under control, but all that means is the extra money will be used to pay off the cards used for the big stuff.

I’ve been getting fewer and fewer games, but since I have a big stack of games I haven’t played yet, I still have “new” games to start playing.  In fact, the thing I’ve been doing is waiting for games on demand to show up for 20 bucks or cheaper before considering it for purchase.  With a couple of memory sticks, I can keep a few full games (or several arcade) on one and not fill up my hard drive, though I keep current games I’m working on handy on the hard drive.  I still keep a couple bucks out of each paycheck (well, out of what I budget for myself) just in case there’s a game that I just have to get.  There are a couple games I want, but I want to pay off my cards more.  Sure, I’ll get the games…  it’s just going to take me a few months to get them.

Well, it doesn’t seem like much, but it’s a start.  Now if I could just figure out a way to convince the wife we don’t need 1,000 t.v. channels. . .
:p

Leave a Reply

